Beehive Buzz

Illinois Alpha Delta Kappa





President

Geri O'Neill (Eta) 4908 W Wanda Peoria, IL 61607 309-645-2175 gerioneill13@gmail.com

President-Elect

Becky Ayers (Lambda) 305 Oakdale Ave. Normal, IL 61761 309-825-7783 bcljayers@gmail.com

Recording Secretary

Diane Kovach (Beta Delta) 34 Orchard Road Harrisburg, IL 62946 618-252-8118 618-841-6316 vach4@yahoo.com

<u>Treasurer</u>

Cindy Macomber (Eta) 519 Hamptons Cv. Peoria, IL 61607 309-697-9348 cmaco4717@yahoo.com

Historian

Pam Kovach (Eta) 307 A Treasure Bartonville, IL 61607 309-697-5441 p22kovach@aol.com

Corresponding Secretary

Lynn Campbell (Eta) 821 E. Hines Peoria Heights, IL 61616 309-685-0351 lynnelizabethcampbell@gmail.com

Chaplain

Mary Ann Kaufman (Eta) 308 Essex St. Glasford, IL 61533 309-678-5487 cubmaster56@glastel.net Dec. 2018/Jan.2019 Volume 4

Winter Greetings and Blessings

Thanksgiving has passed, and Christmas is approaching. Winter seems to be a time for traditions...keeping them going in the midst of changes that happen in our lives. In our family Thanksgiving seems to be the springboard to many family gatherings. This year was bittersweet making different memories without Nana, the matriarch of our clan. At the same time, we counted our many blessings and smiled each time someone said or did something that reminded us how much she is still a part of our lives.

Winter seems to be a good time for reflection. Maybe it's the because we are inside more...snuggling in from the cold. Take time this holiday season to count the blessings in your life. Whatever your traditions and beliefs are, celebrate and be thankful. Try to embrace change even when it's difficult.

As John Lennon said, "Life is what happens when you're busy making plans."



Chapter Buzz



Alpha Theta practiced their cuddle blanket making skills creating this blanket for Alpha Theta Kappa State President, Geri O'Neill, in honor of her Bee Biennium. This teacher sorority earned a \$100 from McDonald's Corp. to create 11 Cuddle Blankets for the patients at St. Jude. Members pictured from L to R are: Yvonne Herbstreith, Herrmine Williams, Roberta Lee, Carol Stallwitz, Bernice Hall, Cindy Brucker, state President, Geri O'Neill, Barbara Tidaback, Kim Hall, Karen Hurst, and Sandy Isenburg. Submitted by Marj Oesch.

Please remember to send chapter highlights to me that you would like in the newsletter. Thanks!



Six sisters from IL attended ITE Weekend in Kansas. Pictured at R: Geri O'Neill, IL State Pres., Becky Ayers, IL Pres.-Elect, Jan Page, Astri Napitupulu, Joyce

Werner, and Dorothy Morrison. Not pictured is Cindy Macomber.

ITE Weekend

Pictured L is Becky Ayers, IL Pres.-Elect, Astri Napitupulu, ITE student from Indonesia, and Joyce Werner, IL Parliamentarian. Becky and Joyce are Astri's sponsors. Astri's address is IL State Univ., 208 W Locust St, Unit 4, Normal, IL 61761.



Attract

 $an\Delta$

Keep Members



It's a new year, you have a new opportunity to Attract an *Keep Mem-*bers.

New/reinstated members must be initiated/reinstated and all current forms and fees must be received at Headquarters by *April 30, 2019*.

Forms required for new members are:

- H-103 Membership Application form sent to International Headquarters prior to initiation.
- H-133 Report of Initiation sent to International Headquarters. immediately following initiation. (If the H-133 is not received we are unable to complete the new member process.)

Form required for reinstatement:

• H-154 Petition for Reinstatement.

The Membership Trifold may be used as a membership tool during the MEMBERSHIP CAMPAIGN



Excellence in Education

It's not too soon to be thinking about a sister for this award. To be eligible, she must be actively engaged and under contract. I know that we

Due Dates/Deadline

Jan. 1—International dues H-138

Jan. 1—Membership Campaign begins

Jan. 19—Executive Board Meeting

Jan. 31—Regional Professional Dev. Scholarship

Feb. 15—Living Memorial Scholarship Application

Feb. 15—Fine Arts Grant Application

March 1—Future Educators Scholarship (non-member)

March 15—Chapter Altruistic Report due to State

March 30—Central Dist. Mtg. & Exec. Brd Mtg follows

April 13—Southern District Meeting

May 4—Northern District Meeting

July 17-20—International Convention Minneapolis



Hive News

Omega

Elaine Young—Alpha Mu Lois Parkinson—Upsilon Eleanor Mears—Mu Carla Harrison—Alpha Kappa



"Bee" the change that you wish to see!

Committees

Altruistic Co-Chair
Mary Derham (Upsilon)
519 Holcomb
Knoxville, IL 61448
309-221-8502
maryl_derham_854@comcast.net

Dawn Pelton (Upsilon) 1127 Knox Rd. 2400 N Unit A Oneida, IL 61467 309-483-6707 peltondawn@gmail.com

AΔK Month/Fraternity Ed. Lucretia Crawford (Mu) 809 W. Main Clinton, IL 61727 217-935-8676 crawford lu@hotmail.com

Audit
Central District—Chair
Rose Hordesky (Eta)
9403 W. Buckingham Ct.
Mapleton, IL 61547
309-697-9265
rosehordesky@hotmail.com

Northern District Joanne Baylis (Xi) 3302 Conover Dr. Rockford, IL 61114 815-877-3340 jobay22@yahoo.com

Southern District Becky Beal (Alpha Nu) 136 N. Meridian Glen Carbon, IL 62034 618-977-1796 beckapeck@yahoo.com

By-Laws
Betsy Murphy (Beta Zeta)
1005 N. Vicksburg
Marion, IL 62959
618-993-8953
murphyb@mchsi.com

Budget
Central District—Chair
Dorothy Morrison (Eta)
4 Cherry St.
Bartonville, IL 61607
309-697-0224

Southern District
Sandy Stone (Alpha Phi)
303 E. Harrison
Sullivan, IL 61951
217-728-4120
stonesandy@hotmail.com

Candidate Qualifications
Central District—Chair
Karen Hurst (Alpha Theta)
248 E. Idlewood
Morton, IL 61550
309-241-0360
kyhurst@sbcglobal.net

Northern District Rebecca Campbell (Beta Kappa) 1877 Grandview Pl. Montgomery, IL 60538 beckyboo1968@yahool.com

> Southern District Joyce Mosimann (Iota) PO Box 257 Columbia, IL 62236 618-973-8450 joydesk@htc.net

Excellence in Education

Southern District—Chair Kathy Weber (Alpha Nu) 1545 Lewis Rd. Edwardsville, IL 62025 618-656-8594 kwpuppets@hotmail.com

Central District
Jan Page (Upsilon)
712 N. Academy St.
Galesburg, IL 61401
309-343-7931
janpage.1@comcast.net

<u>Legislation</u> Lynn Campbell-see Corres. Secy.

Membership
Val Johnson (Xi)
3174 Spring Lake Dr.
Rockford, IL 61114
815-262-9717
val.johnson3553@comcast.net

Music Co-Chair
Navana Ahrends (Alpha Mu)
504 Columbus
Pontiac, IL 61764
815-842-0579
ahnav18@gmail.com

Colleen Rapp (Alpha Mu) 710 N. 4th St. Box 314 Cornell, IL 61319 815-358-2915 colleenrapp@excite.com Parliamentarian
Joyce Werner (Lambda)
1902 Crimson Ln.
Bloomington, IL 61701
309-808-0517
jmwadk@yahoo.com

Scholarship
Central District -Chair
Lisa Justus (Upsilon)
451 N. Pleasant Ave.
Galesburg, IL 61401
309-453-7586
ljjustus@comcast.net

Northern District
Val Petkus (Beta Kappa)
2948 Kirk Rd. Ste 106 #337
Aurora, IL 60502
630-879-6350
valerie.petkus@gmail.com

Southern District
Sandy Stone - see Budget

State Convention Co-Chair
Diane Potts (Eta)
1937 Knox Rd. 1000 North
Williamsfield, IL 61489
309-358-1529
lynnbrook@mymctc.net

Sally Yocum (Eta) 1602 Lincoln Wood Pl. Peoria, IL 61616 309-692-1778 syocum08@comcast.net

Website
Katie Voegel (Mu)
502 W. Stewart
Bloomington, IL 61701
217-246-6431
kvoegel24@comcast.net

World Understanding
Elaine Bjorkman (Upsilon)
17 Skona Lake
Alpha, IL 61413
309-714-1387
ejbjorkman@gmail.com